Such a lovely place

When I leave work at night, I have to walk for a few minutes on the opposite side of the road from the wall of the Hotel California–yes, it’s a long wall. And for a stretch of a hundred metres or so, there’s a very strange echo that makes it sound like my footsteps come from right by the wall, on the other side of the road. The sounds are extremely distinct, as if there was another person walking just level with me and crushing snow under their boots, invisible.

The echo can only be heard at night, though. I wonder why.

Leave a Reply

