Signal boost: Cancer Research Support

Yesterday, while lurking on my F-list, I came across this post from 's journal. I'm reposting a message from one of her friends:

As some of you already know, my dad was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer last year, and as fewer of you already know, he died this week at the age of 52.

Unfortunately, my dad's experience of the disease was pretty typical – despite being the fifth most common cause of cancer death in the UK, pancreatic cancer is shockingly underfunded and hence has an extremely poor survival rate, with 80% of sufferers living for less than a year after diagnosis. Before he died he wanted to raise some money to try to change these statistics for the better, but never got the chance. So we've set up a family fundraising page, with the pretty ambitious target of raising £10,000 for the Pancreatic Cancer Research Fund, and I personally am taking part in the Great South Run for the charity next month (for those of you in the UK, it's shown live on television and everything).

I'd really appreciate if you could take a look at our page and distribute it as widely as you possibly can – in this day and age all it takes is a quick email and miscellaneous social networks, and for issues like these improving visibility is by far the most important thing. It's been up for 24 hours, and we've already had a really encouraging response:

http://www.justgiving.com/Derek-Williams59

I know I haven't been in touch with a lot of you as much as a I should have of late, but I'm sure you can appreciate that it's been a difficult time. I'd be so grateful for your help with this.

Cancer research is a worthy cause, and it’s great if you have time to take a look at it.

Leave a Reply

